WhatsApp launches View Once voice messages or once played they are immediately deleted or lost. Photo/WhatsApp
MENLO PARK – WhatsApp launches View Once voice messages or once played they are immediately deleted or lost. This service provides users with the option to prevent voice sharing messages from continuing to be distributed.
Meta’s messaging app first introduced View Once for photos and videos in 2021. Now, the feature is also available for shared notes or voice messages.
As the name suggests, these voice notes can only be played once, and disappear immediately after. “Now you can share sensitive information via voice messages more calmly,” said WhatsApp, quoted by SINDOnews from the Daily Mail page, Sunday (10/12/2023).
To send a View Once voice message, open the WhatsApp app, then open the chat you want to send. Tap and hold the microphone icon on the bottom panel, and start speaking.
Now you will see a new ‘1’ icon at the bottom of the screen, tap this icon and it will set the voice note to View Once mode. This means the recipient can only play it once, and cannot export, forward, or save it.
However, users will also not be able to listen to it. Like all its messages, WhatsApp assures that its View One voice notes will be end-to-end encrypted.
“For consistency with View Once photos and videos, View Once voice messages are clearly marked with a “one time” icon and can only be played once,” WhatsApp continued.
This new feature comes shortly after WhatsApp launched the ability to set Secret Codes on private chats. This feature will be rolled out globally in the coming days.
As the name suggests, this feature allows you to set a unique password on a conversation, ensuring that the conversation is protected from prying eyes.
“We’re launching secret codes, an additional way to protect chats and make them harder to find if someone has access to your phone or you share your phone with someone else,” WhatsApp said.