U-20 Asian Cup Final Results: Uzbekistan U-20 Champion, Beat Iraq 1-0


The Uzbekistan U-20 national team won the U-20 Asian Cup after overthrowing Iraq/photo/Twitter/AFC

TASHKENT – The Uzbekistan U-20 national team won the 2023 U-20 Asian Cup after defeating Iraq in the final at Milliy Stadium, Tashkent, Uzbekistan, Saturday (18/3/2023) evening WIB. The hosts narrowly won 1-0 thanks to Umarali Rahmonaliev’s goal from the penalty spot.

This is Uzbekistan’s first title in the U-20 Asian Cup. While Iraq has lifted this trophy five times, namely in the 1975, 1977, 1978, 1988 and 2000 editions.

In fact, Iraq U-20 appeared to dominate the match in the early minutes of the first half. However, Uzbekistan also endangered Iraq’s goal several times. In the 35th minute, Diyor Ortiqboyev’s header from the center of the penalty box missed in the top left corner.

In the 40th minute, it was Abbosbek Fayzullayev’s turn to hit a hard shot, but it only went wide to the left side of the goal. No goals in the first half.

Entering the second half, Uzbekistan U-20 seemed to play more aggressively and attack. They were able to threaten the goal guarded by Hussein Rasetim in the 65th minute through a powerful kick from Nodir Abdurazzakov, but his shot was right in the arms of the Iraqi goalkeeper.

Five minutes later, Uzbekistan got the chance through the white point after Fayzullayev was violated in the forbidden box. Captain number 10, Umarali Rahmonaliev, as the executor, was able to break into Iraq’s goal. His right foot shot into the middle of the goal tricked Rasetim.

The penalty goal was the only goal scored in the final match. Until the end of the match, the score was 1-0 for Uzbekistan U-20.

Player lineup

Uzbekistan U-20 (3-4-2-1): Otabek Boymurodov; Dyorbek Ortikboev, A. Khusanov, Jakhongir Orozov; Zafarmurod Abdirahmatov, Bekhruz Askarov, Umarali Rakhmonaliev, Makhmudjon Makhamadzhnov; Sherzod Esanov, A. Faizullayev; Asadbek Zoraboyev.
Pelatih: Ravshan Khaydarov

Irak U-20 (4-2-3-1): Hussein Rastim; Ali Jasim, Talib Adam, Raad Kadhim, Mohammed Sajjad Saedi Al-Mahdi; Sadeq Ali Shaheen, Abdulrazzaq Qasim; Mohammed Sajjad Najafi Fadhil, Hayder Abdulkareem, Abdulqader Jameel Ayoob; Mustafa Mustafa Qabeel.
Coach: Emad Mohammed Ridha Al Easeri


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.