Greysia/Apriyani and Eko Yuli Won the 2023 NOC Award


JAKARTA – Greysia Polii and Apriyani Rahayu won the NOC Award 2023. The badminton athlete pair who won gold medals at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics were selected in the women’s athlete category. While the male athletes were awarded to Rio Waida (surfing) and weightlifting star Eko Yuli.

The awards initiated by the Indonesian Olympic Committee (KOI) or the Indonesian National Olympics Committee (NOC) are divided into 11 categories. This award was held for the first time in the history of Indonesian sports. The event took place at the end of the annual KOI Member Meeting (RA) at the Fairmont Hotel, Jakarta, Monday (6/3/2023).

KOI Chairman Raja Sapta Oktohari stated that the NOC Award was given not to those who were the best, but to those who inspired the advancement of sports in Indonesia.

The results of the jury’s assessment chose Greysia Polii and Apriyani Rahayu, who won the women’s athlete category. Meanwhile, the male athlete category was given to surfing athlete Rio Waida and weightlifting star, Eko Yuli.

The badminton sports branch also received two other awards, namely the federation category, the Indonesian Badminton Association (PBSI), as well as the general chairman category of the federation, namely PBSI General Chairperson Agung Firman Sampurna.

Other winners in the federation category are the Indonesian Shooting Association (Perbakin) and its general chairman, Joko Supriyanto. President Joko Widodo also received the award and was named the Father of Indonesian Sports.

Then, BUMN Minister Erick Thohir received a lifetime achievement award at NOC 2023. Erick, who is also the general chairman of PSSI at this time, received it because of his contribution to various sports in the country and is the only Indonesian who is a member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

For the category of judges won by Pranata from beautiful diving. Then, for the category of referees won by KS Henry Indrayani Oka from shooting sports.

Then the coach category was given to Hendra Basir from rock climbing and Saiful Suran from jetski. Then, the Indonesian Sports Journalists Section (SIWO) won the journalist category.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.